May 22, 2014


PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, Ohio, May 22, 2014 – Owens Community College students were recently recognized for their academic excellence and leadership within the community, earning membership into the Gamma Zeta Chapter of the Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society.

The Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society was founded at West Chester University of Pennsylvania in 1989 in response to the increasing need to acknowledge the continuing successes of students within the academic institution’s academic development program. Recognizing that students who share similar experiences could serve as models for others, founder Dr. Elbert Saddler proposed a Greek letter honor society. In 2001, Chi Alpha Epsilon received official endorsement from the National Association for Developmental Education. Today, there are over 200 chapters of the national honor society.

The honor society promotes continued high academic standards, fosters communication among its members and encourages community service and participation in academic support programs where individuals may serve as role models to entering students.

Selection criterion for acceptance into the honor society is based upon students achieving a 3.0 or higher cumulative grade point average for two consecutive full-time semesters or three-four part-time semesters. In addition, individuals must have taken at least one developmental education course at Owens. The College’s chapter was founded in April 2006.

The Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society student inductees for the 2014 Spring Semester are Ashley Altaffer of Montepelier (business administration), Lisa Arend of Toledo (medical office assistant), Julie Bitter of Oregon (education), Kristen Borcherding-Jacobs of Luckey (occupational therapy assistant), Jennifer Cavey of Oregon (criminal justice), Michael Chizmar II of Perrysburg (commercial art tech.), Barbara Fritz of Arlington (business administration), Margaret Fuller of Toledo (Landscape and Turfgrass Management), Kajara Furr-Ruffin of Toledo (accounting), Erica Gears of North Balitmore (pre-nursing), Heather Harris of Toledo (business), Richard Harrison, Jr. of Perrysburg (business management), Scott Histed of Maumee (criminal justice), Chelsea Hooks of Oregon (dental hygiene), Joan Hosny of Toledo (business administration), Jolene Jackson of Toledo (business administration), Courtney Knadler of Lambertville, Mich. (AS General Concentration/Dental Assisting), Heather Koziel of Findlay (social work), Haley Kreger of Temperance, Mich. (occupational therapy assistant), Michelle Link of Lima (diagnostic med. tech.) Lindsy Machado of Maumee (dental hygiene), Gregory McClusky of Toledo (computer programmer), Dustin Moosman of Waterville (John Deere tech.), Kristy Oates of Bowling Green (RN), Kyle Olszewski of Toledo (business management), Leticia Parish of Toledo (social work), Brianna Planz of Ottawa (business), Megan Rahm of Toledo (commercial art tech.), Aalea Robertson of Toledo (criminal justice), Scott Romaker of Fostoria (business tech.), Ricky Staler of Enoa (psychology), Taylor Smith of Wauseon (nursing), Sarah Soncrant of Northwood (accounting tech.), Jayme Wietrzykowski of Toledo (health information tech.), and Tonya Young of Elmore (accounting tech.).