May 7, 2014


PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, Ohio, May 7, 2014 – Owens Community College’s Board of Trustees honored area high school seniors recently for their outstanding achievements, receiving thousands of dollars in new scholarships through the Trustees’ Academic Excellence Scholarship Program.

“Owens Community College is honored to recognize the Trustees’ Academic Excellence scholarship recipients for their dedication to academic excellence and outstanding service to their respective schools and communities,” said Richard Rowe, Owens Chair of the Board of Trustees. “On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I would like to commend them on their accomplishments and welcome them to Owens Community College.”

The Academic Excellence Scholarship Program was created in 1998 by Owens’ Board of Trustees to recognize the outstanding achievements of graduating high school seniors. Each recipient will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

The scholarship is provided over four consecutive semesters with applicants being enrolled full-time and pursuing an associate’s degree at the College, as well as maintaining a 3.0 grade point average each semester. Since its creation more than a decade ago, the Trustees’ Academic Excellence Scholarship Program has provided over $1.3 million in scholarships to over 700 students.

Students receiving a Trustees’ Academic Excellence Scholarship and their intended course of study at Owens include:

• William Lemle of Monclova, an Anthony Wayne High School graduate (General Studies)
• Hannah Ball of Findlay, an Arcadia High School graduate (Undecided)
• Chelsea Marquart of Arlington, an Arlington High School graduate (Nursing)
• Taylor Purcell of Temperance, a Bedford High School graduate (Nursing)
• Alicia Kikomoor of Bowling Green, a Bowling Green High School graduate (Fine Arts)
• Miranda Sauerwein of Toledo, a Bowsher High School graduate (Accounting Tech.)
• Rachel Green of Carey, a Carey High School graduate (Undecided)
• Timothy Marciniak of Toledo, a Central Catholic High School graduate (Welding)
• Anyssia Flores of Toledo, a Clay High School graduate (Nursing)
• Megan Albright of Clyde, a Clyde High School graduate (Occupational Therapy Assistant)
• Ryan Mang of Perrysburg, an Eastwood High School graduate (Nursing)
• Jordan Matthews of Montpelier, an Edon Northwest High School graduate (Dental Hygiene)
• Kyra Bloom of Bloomdale, an Elmwood High School graduate ( Physical Therapy Assistant and Massage Therapy)
• Rachael Smith of Ottawa Lake, an Emmanuel Christian School graduate (Undecided)
• Cristin Franks of Findlay, a Findlay Digital Academy graduate (Physical Therapy Assistant)
• Bayley Hill of Findlay, a Findlay High School graduate (Occupational Therapy)
• Troy Laird of Fremont, a Fremont Ross High School graduate (Culinary Arts)
• Keri Leskow of Perrysburg, a Lake High School graduate (Nursing)
• Kennedy Wood of Napoleon, a Liberty Center graduate (Dental Hygiene)
• Matthew Lawson of Maumee, a Maumee High School graduate (Information Technology Systems)
• Gretchen Bersinger of Holland, a Monclova Christian Academy graduate (Undecided)
• Adam Altaffer of Montpelier, a Montpelier High School graduate (John Deere Tech.)
• Ethan Nominee of North Baltimore, a North Baltimore High School graduate (Education)
• Shelby Tittle of Northwood, a Northwood High School graduate (Undecided)
• Alyssa Tori of Temperance, a Notre Dame Academy graduate (Undecided)
• Cassandra Brenneman of Oak Harbor, an Oak Harbor High School graduate (Undecided)
• Kyle Wright of Grand Rapids, an Otsego High School graduate (Criminal Justice)
• Logan Meyer of Ottawa, an Ottawa Glandorf High School graduate (Physical Therapy Assistant)
• Abigail Abke of Pemberville, a Penta Career Center graduate (Electrical)
• Nicole Hersch of Perrysburg, a Perrysburg High School graduate (General Studies)
• Nadia Coleman of Holland, a Phoenix Academy graduate (Undecided)
• Rocio Gonzalez of Toledo, a Polly Fox Academy graduate (Criminal Justice)
• Kristen Evans of Forest, a Riverdale High School graduate (Elementary Education)
• Qingquan Lin of Toledo, a Rogers High School graduate (Electrical Certificate)
• Wyatt Kinkade of Perrysburg, a Rossford High School graduate (Networking and Information Systems Support)
• Jordyn James of Holland, a Springfield High School graduate (Nursing)
• Katie Collins of Toledo, a St. Ursula Academy graduate (Diagnostic Medical Sonography)
• Lydia Yeager of Toledo, a Start High School graduate (Undecided)
• Allister Stange of Toledo, a Summit Academy graduate (Engineering)
• Emily Maier of Swanton, a Swanton High School graduate (Dental)
• Haley McKinch of Sylvania, a Sylvania Southview High School graduate (Dental Hygiene)
• Kyle Ciha of Toledo, a Toledo Technology Academy graduate (Electrical Engineering)
• Ivan Quezada of Findlay, a Van Buren High School graduate (Undecided)
• Rachel Wiseley of Findlay, a Vanlue High School graduate (Undecided)
• Amber Webb of Toledo, a Waite High School graduate (Business)
• Kaytlyn Wagner of Toledo, a Whitmer High School graduate (Undecided)
• Matthew Hartford of Elmore, a Woodmore High School graduate (Commercial Art)
• Giovanni Cuadra of Toledo, a Woodward High School graduate (Computer Science)