May 2, 2013

Owens Community College Student Receives Board of Trustees Excellence Award

Board of Trustees Student Honor

Owens’ Board of Trustees honored student Benjamin Irvine with a Certificate of Recognition for Exceptional Student Leadership.

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, Ohio – Owens Community College student Benjamin Irvine of Maumee has been chosen by the Board of Trustees Student Life Committee to receive a student excellence award for his commitment to academics, community engagement, student leadership and involvement in student life.

Irvine received the Certificate of Recognition for Exceptional Student Leadership and was recognized for his achievement at the College’s recent Board of Trustees meeting.

Irvine was nominated by Kimberly Holman for his exceptional student leadership in supporting fellow nursing students in the development of their own academic and leadership skills and service in the community. The registered nursing major serves as President of the Pi Chapter of the Alpha Delta Nu Honor Society at Owens and led the efforts in organizing the chapter’s capstone project requirement while encouraging member involvement. Irvine is also a member of the Owens Student Nurses Association and voluntarily formed a biweekly pharmacology study group that has impacted student achievement within the classroom. Additionally, he provides service to the community through his involvement with Habitat for Humanity.

The Board of Trustees Student Life Committee was chartered in 2011 to recognize and celebrate students who demonstrate the College’s core values of service, learning, innovation, collaboration and excellence through their achievements in academics, community engagement or involvement in student leadership and student life.

Any individual may nominate an Owens student or a group of students who demonstrate achievements specific to the award categories of Exemplary Academic Achievement, Extraordinary Community Engagement or Volunteerism and Exceptional Student Leadership or Student Life Involvement. The awards are presented regularly to student recipients during Board of Trustees meetings.

The College’s Board of Trustees is comprised of six community leaders who are appointed by the Governor of Ohio. Owens Board of Trustees members include Diana H. (Dee) Talmage of Ottawa Hills, H. Richard Rowe of Findlay, Dr. Ronald A. McMaster of Perrysburg, Edwin J. Nagle of Toledo, William E. Takacs of Toledo and Thomas R. Uhler of Rossford.

Owens Community College is an accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, as well as at the Arrowhead Park Learning Center in Maumee and the Learning Center at The Source in downtown Toledo. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit