April 11, 2013

Owens Student and Faculty Leaders Inducted Into Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, OH – Owens Community College students and a faculty member were recently honored for their academic accomplishments in business, earning membership into the Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society.

Kappa Beta Delta was established in 1997 as an international honor society exclusively for Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) accredited two-year business programs.

Standing for excellence, trustworthiness and genuineness, the overall mission of Kappa Beta Delta is to encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students of business, management and administration at two-year academic institutions. Additionally, the international honor society promotes student aspirations toward personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind.

“Owens Community College is extremely proud of our inductees for their excellence in higher education business programs,” said Barb DiNardo, Owens Professor of Business Technology and Kappa Beta Delta Co-Advisor.

Owens Assistant Professor of Business Management and Kappa Beta Delta Co-Advisor Margaret Parker added, “Induction to Kappa Beta Delta is considered a lifetime honor and quite an achievement within the Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs. We commend our students for exhibiting academic excellence at the highest level.”

In addition to student recipients, Owens Assistant Professor of Accounting Ramadevi Kannan of Bowling Green was named an honorary inductee to the Kappa Beta Delta program. Kannan was recognized for her efforts in going above and beyond to better educational opportunities for Owens students.

Selection criterion for students into Kappa Beta Delta is based upon completing a minimum of 15 semester hours of credit and achieving a minimum 3.5 grade point average, among other areas.

The Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society student inductees for the 2012-13 academic year are Melissa Cook of Fostoria, Cinthia Leite of Toledo, Dawn Foster of Risingsun, Edward Kime of Toledo, Qingjuan Kong of Toledo, Karen Lehman of Carey, Lynne Long of Walbridge, Zeina Nuhfer of Toledo, Julie Pitts of Columbus Grove, Karen Ricica of Toledo, Richard Scott Jr. of Toledo, Dania Sinclair of Delta, Sarah Soncrant of Northwood, Jessica Szumigala of Toledo, Jayme Weber of Sylvania, Holly-Lynn Wright of Toledo and Tonya Young of Elmore.

Owens Community College is an accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, as well as at the Arrowhead Park Learning Center in Maumee and the Learning Center at The Source in downtown Toledo. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit www.owens.edu.