December 11, 2012

Ohio Governor Reappoints Community Leader to Owens Board of Trustees Position


PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, Ohio – Ohio Gov. John R. Kasich has reappointed Dr. Ronald A. McMaster of Perrysburg to the Owens Community College Board of Trustees. McMaster will serve a six-year term on the College’s Board of Trustees ending in 2018.

“We are honored that Dr. Ronald McMaster will continue to provide leadership to Owens Community College’s Board of Trustees,” said Dee Talmage, Chair of the Owens Community College Board of Trustees. “Ron’s unwavering commitment to higher education has had a profound impact on Owens Community College and we look forward to his continued dedication and support toward advancing the academic institution’s mission through excellence, innovation and collaboration.”

McMaster was initially appointed to the College’s Board of Trustees in March 1993. During his Board of Trustees tenure, McMaster has served as Chair from 2006-07 and Vice Chair from 2003-05. His involvement also includes serving on several Board of Trustees ad hoc and standing committees, including the Finance Committee, Trustees Collaboration Committee and for Owens Community College Presidential Searches.

Additionally, McMaster has made significant contributions to the mission of Owens Community College and the Owens Community College Foundation through fostering relationships, most notably with the Gateway to College National Network and the McMaster Foundation, in the support of students attaining, persisting and completing degrees in high school and in college.

McMaster is retired from GlassTech Inc. as Vice President of Corporate Development. He earned both bachelor’s and master’s degrees from The Ohio State University and a doctoral degree from the University of Michigan, all within the concentration of mechanical engineering.

The College’s Board of Trustees is comprised of six community leaders from Lucas, Wood, Hancock and Sandusky counties who are appointed by the Governor of Ohio.

Owens Board of Trustees members include Diana H. (Dee) Talmage of Ottawa Hills, H. Richard Rowe of Findlay, Dr. Ronald A. McMaster of Perrysburg, Edwin J. Nagle of Toledo, William E. Takacs of Toledo and Thomas R. Uhler of Rossford.

Owens Community College is an accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, as well as at the Arrowhead Park Learning Center in Maumee and the Learning Center at The Source in downtown Toledo. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit