November 8, 2012

Owens Findlay-area Campus Students Receive Board of Trustees Excellence Awards

FINDLAY, Ohio – Owens Community College students Hannah Russell of Findlay and Jeffrey Hansell of Findlay have been chosen by the Board of Trustees Student Life Committee to receive student excellence awards for their commitment to academics, community engagement, student leadership and involvement in student life.

Russell received the Certificate of Recognition for Exceptional Student Leadership, while Hansell was honored with the Certificate of Recognition for Exemplary Academic Achievement. The two students were recognized for their achievements at the College’s recent Board of Trustees meeting.

Russell was nominated by Dana Roof for her leadership and serving as a positive role model for students pursuing a college education at Owens. The social work major has devoted her time in advancing the mission of Owens through such initiatives as serving as a Bridge to Success Program peer mentor, working in the advising area as a student worker and through her visits to high schools where she shares her message of how Owens changed her life.

Hansell, a CAD technology major, was nominated by Eric Duling for his achievement and his focus on student learning while mentoring and assisting students. Hansell’s exemplary academic achievement in design technologies, including his application of concepts to fully functioning assemblies, has been instrumental in his ability as a student worker to articulate the applications of design to enhance student success among his fellow students.

The Board of Trustees Student Life Committee was chartered last year to recognize and celebrate students who demonstrate the College’s core values of service, learning, innovation, collaboration and excellence through their achievements in academics, community engagement or involvement in student leadership and student life.

Any individual may nominate an Owens student or a group of students who demonstrate achievements specific to the award categories of Exemplary Academic Achievement, Extraordinary Community Engagement or Volunteerism and Exceptional Student Leadership or Student Life Involvement. The awards are presented regularly to student recipients during Board of Trustees meetings.

The College’s Board of Trustees is comprised of eight community leaders from Lucas, Wood, Hancock and Sandusky counties who are appointed by the Governor of Ohio. Owens Board of Trustees members include Diana H. (Dee) Talmage of Ottawa Hills, H. Richard Rowe of Findlay, Allan J. Libbe of Perrysburg, Dr. Ronald A. McMaster of Perrysburg, R J Molter of Woodville, Edwin J. Nagle of Toledo, William E. Takacs of Toledo and Thomas R. Uhler of Rossford.

Owens Community College is an accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, as well as at the Arrowhead Park Learning Center in Maumee and the Learning Center at The Source in downtown Toledo. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit

[nggallery id=37]