February 20, 2012

Owens Student Leaders Inducted Into Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, Ohio – Owens Community College students were recently honored for their academic accomplishments in business, earning membership into the Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society.

Kappa Beta Delta was established in 1997 as an international honor society exclusively for Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) accredited two-year business programs.

Standing for excellence, trustworthiness and genuineness, the overall mission of Kappa Beta Delta is to encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students of business, management and administration at two-year academic institutions. Additionally, the international honor society promotes student aspirations toward personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind.

“Owens Community College is extremely proud of our inductees for their excellence in higher education business programs,” said Barb DiNardo, Owens Professor of Business Technology and Kappa Beta Delta Advisor. “Induction to Kappa Beta Delta is considered a lifetime honor and quite an achievement within the Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs.”

Selection criterion for students into Kappa Beta Delta is based upon completing a minimum of 15 semester hours of credit and achieving a minimum 3.5 grade point average, among other areas.

The Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society student inductees for the Fall Semester are Terry Burkhead of Toledo (business), Kimberly Craig of Two Harbors, Minn. (accounting), Melissa Diebert of Genoa (pre-business administration), Rita Dipman of Clay Center (information systems), Charity Goehring of Perrysburg (accounting), John Hermiller of Findlay (operations management), John Hubbard of Perrysburg (office administration), Michele Janz of Whitehouse (medical office support), Kristy Knaup of Carey (medical office support), Samantha Lucio of Sylvania (accounting), Dianna Nevius of Gibsonburg (entrepreneurial), Jason Saxton of Toledo (pre-business administration), David Slaughter of Lambertville, Mich. (pre-business administration), Kathy Smith of Fostoria (accounting), Amoy Wattley of Toledo (accounting), Michael Williams of Fostoria (pre-business administration) and Crystal Wonderly of Fostoria (business).

Owens Community College is an accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, as well as at the Arrowhead Park Learning Center in Maumee and the Learning Center at The Source in downtown Toledo. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit www.owens.edu.