November 22, 2011

Cowley College Crowned National Champions at Owens-Hosted NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Tourney

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, Ohio – Cowley College (Arkansas City, Kan.) earned the right to be called national champions after winning four matches during the recent three-day NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Championship Tournament at Owens Community College. The Tigers captured their national title after defeating Oakland Community College (Auburn Hills, Mich.) 23-25, 25-18, 25-21, 25-21 in the national championship match.

In third place match, Kishwaukee College (Malta, Ill.) was victorious over Phoenix College (Phoenix, Ariz.) 17-25, 25-21, 25-14, 27-25.

Student-athletes earning NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Championship All-Tournament Awards were Shelby Geers (Parkland College), Hannah Geelhoed (Grand Rapids CC), Xiao Liang (Iowa Lakes CC), Mackenzie Johnson (Kishwaukee College), Mel Church (Metropolitan CC-Longview), Malorie Kelley (Phoenix College), Lauren Maxwell (Oakland CC), Ashley Fields (Oakland CC), Danika Maggard (Cowley College) and Martyna Gluchowicz (Cowley College). NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Championship Tournament Most Valuable Player was awarded to Molley Scanlon (Cowley College), while Jenifer Bahner (Cowley College) garnered Coaching Award honors.

Other teams competing in the tournament were Prairie State College, Chicago Heights, Ill.; Iowa Lakes Community College, Estherville, Iowa; Iowa Central Community College, Fort Dodge, Iowa; Grand Rapids Community College, Grand Rapids, Mich.; Central Community College, Columbus, Neb.; Hagerstown Community College, Hagerstown, Md.; Parkland College, Champaign, Ill.; Illinois Central College, East Peoria, Ill.; Genesee Community College, Batavia, N.Y.; Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kan.; Metropolitan Community College-Longview, Lee’s Summit, Mo., and Pasco-Hernando Community College, New Port Richey, Fla.

Owens has hosted the national championship tournament on seven previous occasions. The College served as the host site for the NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Championship Tournament from 2001-04 and the NJCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball National Championship Tournament from 1998-2000.

Owens Community College is an accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit

[nggallery id=17]