November 10, 2011

Owens Community College to Host NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Tournament, Nov. 17-19

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, Ohio – The top 16 community college volleyball teams from across the country will converge on Northwest Ohio this upcoming week as Owens Community College serves as host to the NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Championship Tournament, Nov. 17-19.

The College has hosted the national championship tournament on seven previous occasions. Owens served as the host site for the NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Championship Tournament from 2001-04 and the NJCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball National Championship Tournament from 1998-2000.

All tournament matches will be played at the College’s Student Health and Activities Center (SHAC) on the Toledo-area Campus. Owens is located on Oregon Road in Perrysburg Township.

Tournament competition in the 16-team consolation-elimination event begins on Thursday, Nov. 17, with first round matches taking place at 9 a.m., 11 a.m., 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. The second round will begin at 5:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. on Thursday. On Friday, Nov. 18, the national volleyball tournament continues with losers’ bracket and national semifinal matches at 10 a.m., 12 p.m., 2:30 p.m., 4:30 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.

The tournament will conclude on Saturday, Nov. 19, with consolation bracket matches at 12 p.m. followed by the fifth place match at 2:30 p.m., the third place match at 4:30 p.m. and national championship match at 6:30 p.m.

The list of 16 teams competing in the tournament are Kishwaukee College, Malta, Ill. (33-9); Prairie State College, Chicago Heights, Ill. (27-10); Iowa Lakes Community College, Estherville, Iowa (31-8); Iowa Central Community College, Fort Dodge, Iowa (44-6); Oakland Community College, Auburn Hills, Mich. (38-3); Grand Rapids Community College, Grand Rapids, Mich. (31-5); Central Community College, Columbus, Neb. (30-9); Hagerstown Community College, Hagerstown, Md. (27-7); Phoenix College, Phoenix, Ariz. (19-8); Parkland College, Champaign, Ill. (38-7); Illinois Central College, East Peoria, Ill. (28-11); Genesee Community College, Batavia, N.Y. (22-19); Cowley College, Arkansas City, Kan. (33-2); Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kan. (23-11); Metropolitan Community College-Longview, Lee’s Summit, Mo. (20-3), and Pasco-Hernando Community College, New Port Richey, Fla. (31-9).

Tickets for the NJCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball National Tournament are $15 (day tournament pass) and $35 (three-day tournament pass). For more information, call (567) 661-7973 or 1-800-GO-OWENS, Ext. 7973, or visit

Owens Community College is an accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit