May 31, 2011

Owens Community College Students Inducted Into Spring Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, OH – Owens Community College students were recently recognized for their academic excellence and leadership within the community, earning membership into the Gamma Zeta Chapter of the Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society.

The Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society was founded at West Chester University of Pennsylvania in 1989 in response to the increasing need to acknowledge the continuing successes of students within the academic institution’s academic development program. Recognizing that students who share similar experiences could serve as models for others, founder Dr. Elbert Saddler proposed a Greek letter honor society. In 2001, Chi Alpha Epsilon received official endorsement from the National Association for Developmental Education. Today, there are over 150 chapters of the national honor society.

The honor society promotes continued high academic standards, fosters communication among its members and encourages community service and participation in academic support programs where individuals may serve as role models to entering students.

“Owens Community College’s Gamma Zeta Chapter of Chi Alpha Epsilon is extremely honored and proud to recognize the academic achievements of students who enter college through non-traditional criteria,” said Sharon Badenhop, Owens Associate Professor of English and Co-Adviser of Chi Alpha Epsilon. “The inductees are outstanding young men and women, many of whom have defied the odds and overcome obstacles in pursuit of a college education. This honor society provides such a means to encourage, motivate and reward individuals for continuing to grow and develop into role models for fellow students.”

Selection criterion for acceptance into the honor society is based upon students achieving a 3.0 or higher cumulative grade point average for two consecutive full-time semesters or three-four part-time semesters. In addition, individuals must have taken at least one developmental education course at Owens. The College’s chapter was founded in April 2006. The Chi Alpha Epsilon National Honor Society student inductees for the 2011 Spring Semester are:

Julie Barraclough of Oregon                                   (office support)

Kevin Bernheisel of Toledo                                     (biology)

Richard Bethel of Toledo                                        (business management)

Renee Bidlack of Walbridge                                    (pre-physical therapist assistant)

Brian Bowers of Holland                                         (pre-nursing)

Joshua Breitigam of Findlay                                    (business management)

Toni Breneman of Findlay                                       (accounting)

Lori Burkett of Findlay                                            (pre-nursing)

Phillip Carlen of Findlay                                          (pre-business administration)

Paula Cartlidge of Toledo                                       (accounting)

Stephanie Cary of Lima                                          (pre-physical therapist assistant)

Angela Cochran of Delta                                        (basic peace officer academy)

Kelsie Colburn of Findlay                                       (criminal justice technology)

Octavia Dabney of Toledo                                      (culinary arts)

Delaine Depp of Fostoria                                       (financial services sales)

Katie Duval of Genoa                                             (social work)

Eric Eagleston of Toledo                                        (pre-business administration)

Adam Ferrell of Bryan                                            (networking and information systems support)

Christina Flathers of Maumee                                (surgical)

Jill Gorham of Toledo                                            (pre-radiography)

Jonathan Hall of Toledo                                         (manufacturing technology)

Marcia Hall of Toledo                                            (pre-surgical)

Sheryl Hudson of Toledo                                       (pre-nursing)

Jason Kearns of Forest                                          (criminal justice technology)

Joshua Kensler of Toledo                                      (medical office support)

Philip Kern of Maumee                                          (early childhood education)

Jordan Kuyoth of Sylvania                                    (CAD technology)

Ashley LaHote of Sylvania                                    (pre-radiography)

Michelle Leonard of Toledo                                  (pre-surgical)

Cheryl Lewis of Toledo                                         (accounting)

Justin Liptack of Millbury                                      (social work)

Myiisha Lott of Toledo                                          (registered nursing)

Tiffany Lowery of Wharton                                    (medical office support)

Amber McCormick of Toledo                                (registered nursing)

Angel Murphy of Toledo                                       (business management)

Sally Osborn of Holland                                        (multi-age education)

Casey Ostwinch of Findlay                                    (landscape and turfgrass management)

Tom Otieno of Toledo                                          (pre-physical therapist assistant)

Karen Patton of Findlay                                        (pre-medical assistant)

Eileen Pfaffenberger of Metamora                        (office coordination)

Kristen Ratajczak of Maumee                               (massage therapy)

Cheryl Roth of Toledo                                          (medical office support)

Nancy Smeeton-Gaietto of Bloomville                  (real estate)

Michael Sperry of Toledo                                      (criminal justice technology)

Melissa Trombly of Perrysburg                             (radiography)

Owens Community College is an accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit