December 13, 2010

Owens Student Leaders Inducted Into Fall Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, OH – Owens Community College students recently were honored for their excellence in higher education, earning membership into the Alpha Omega Pi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society for the Fall Semester. Owens’ chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is one of the largest in Ohio.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 by the presidents of eight Missouri junior colleges for women. In 1924, the international organization was expanded to include all two-year colleges. To date, more than one million individuals have been inducted into the international honor society.

The overall mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize academic excellence among two-year college students, provide opportunities for leadership training and an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals. In addition, the society continues to promote among its members the four standard hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

“Owens Community College is proud to recognize these new inductees for their outstanding dedication and commitment to higher education,” said Rick Clever, Owens Technical Director of Fine and Performing Arts and Co-Advisor. “Selection to Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is certainly an honor that can only be achieved as a result of hard work and determination. Each and every student is very deserving and should be commended for their tremendous achievement.”

Selection criterion for students receiving the honor is based upon enrollment in a two-year college, completing a minimum number of course hours set forth by the individual chapter, achieving a minimum 3.5 grade point average and exemplifying academic excellence, as determined by faculty.

The Alpha Omega Pi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society student inductees for the 2010 Fall Semester are:

Muse Ali of Toledo (international business)
Maria Baboun of Perrysburg (pre-nursing)
Jennifer Baker of Bowling Green (diagnostic medical sonography)
Shelby Baker of Sylvania (business management)
Leila Barakat of Toledo (pre-radiography)
Albin Bauer III of Northwood (automotive technology)
Sara Baum of Swanton (international studies)
Diana Baum of Toledo (early childhood education)
Amanda Billegas of Toledo (psychology)
Michelle Blevins of Toledo (associate of arts, general concentration)
Christopher Bohland of Toledo (registered nursing)
Chad Born of Walbridge (middle childhood education)
Amanda Borton of Toledo (early childhood education)
Elizabeth Bowlus of Fremont (pre-medical imaging technologies)
Cynthia Butler of Toledo (commercial art technology)
Scott Campbell of Holland (social work)
Elizabeth Celley of Perrysburg (middle childhood education)
Amanda Chernota of Walbridge (associate of arts, general concentration)
Megan Childers of Northwood (pre-nursing)
Caren Cole of Perrysburg (middle childhood education)
Donald Cole of West Unity (welding)
Susan Colon of Perrysburg (pre-medical assistant)
Sunday Crandall of Toledo (pre-occupational therapy assistant)
Douglas Crowley of Toledo (business management)
Gabrielle Cutino of Oregon (social work)
Telia Dargartz of Findlay (adolescence education)
Nathan Daulbaugh of Toledo (commercial art technology)
Myron Draime of Northwood (electrical)
Kimberly Erdman of Toledo (pre-business administration)
Kayla Fackler of McClure (adolescence education)
Nancy Fleishman of Toledo (CPA qualifying)
Jordan Floyd of Waterville (undecided)
Christopher Fofrich of Toledo (psychology)
Karen Fowler of Toledo (e-business)
Timothy Frank of Toledo (international business)
Dana Frederick of Toledo (sociology)
Nicholas Fry of Edgerton (accounting)
Whitney Geis of Monclova (pre-medical imaging technologies)
Jordan Glass of Oak Harbor (pre-radiography)
James Good of Toledo (CAD technology)
Susanna Graham of Toledo (pre-occupational therapy assistant)
Jacob Green of Bowling Green (welding)
Marisol Halligan of Perrysburg (accounting)
Andrew Hartke of Oregon (mathematics)
Edward Hawk of Lima (business management)
Heather Haws of Bradner (occupational therapy assistant)
Ashley Hileman of Toledo (fine art)
Renee Hires of Northwood (health information technology)
Benjamin Hobbs of Berkey (marketing and sales)
Julia Huguelet of Toledo (dental hygiene)
Skylar Jackson of Toledo (pre-nursing)
Matthew Johnson of Perrysburg (radiography)
Tracy Johnson of Piqua (emergency management and planning)
Bradley Kiepert of Wauseon (pre-nursing)
Kenneth Korn of Bowling Green (operations management)
Ruth Kuohn of Toledo (medical office support)
Pamela Lambert of Toledo (social work)
Alyssa LaVoy of Pemberville (biology)
Maria Lay of Toledo (culinary arts)
Terri Leary of Pemberville (associate of arts, general concentration)
Diana Leemaster of Bradner (operations management)
Grace Lomeli of Leipsic (dental hygiene)
Joseph Mackey of Curtice (business management)
Elizabeth McGlynn of Toledo (information systems)
Saige Meyer of Deshler (pre-business administration)
Danielle Morris of Whitehouse (pre-nursing)
Lauren Murtaugh of Graytown (pre-dental hygiene)
Melody Mylek of Waterville (associate of arts, general concentration)
Dennis Oehlers of Toledo (journalism)
Alan Onest of Perrysburg (undecided)
Ashley Perez of Holland (pre-dental hygiene)
Jacqueline Ray of Toledo (associate of arts, general concentration)
Thomas Reed of Rossford (undecided)
Laura Roesti-Green of Ottawa Hills (pre-nursing)
Christine Sarantou of Toledo (pre-business administration)
Jennifer Schmidt of Waterville (business management)
Stephanie Schnapp of Toledo (associate of arts, general concentration)
Amanda Schuster of Sylvania (pre-occupational therapy assistant)
Hilary Scott of Toledo (networking and information systems support)
Delores Searight of Erie, Mich. (physical therapist assistant)
Tonya Shank of Perrysburg (registered nursing)
Rebecca Sheehy of Genoa (English literature)
Lyndsey Shufeldt of Toledo (financial services sales)
Elvis Shuneh of Toledo (networking and information systems support)
Robin Smith of Toledo (safety coordinator)
Benjamin Stansfield of Perrysburg (English literature)
Eva Swatek of Toledo (pre-nursing)
Beth Szmania of Monclova (pre-dietetic)
Geremy Taylor of Fostoria (computer programming)
Benjamin Timmons of Burgoon (undecided)
Cory Vail of Perrysburg (fine art)
Rebecca Velandra of Ottawa Lake, Mich. (culinary arts)
Maxwell Walborn of Perrysburg (psychology)
Robert Walden Jr. of Toledo (web design)
Ebony Walker of Toledo (sociology)
John Wannemacher of Toledo (undecided)
Emily West of Haskins (small business management option)
Jacob Whitta of Fostoria (pre-professional engineering)
Airiga Williams of Toledo (pre-nursing)
Darcy Williams of Toledo (e-business)
Emily Wineland of Toledo (biology)
Nathan Wisniewski of Sylvania (history)
Cory Wobser of Castalia (pre-physical therapist assistant)
Logan Wolph of Fostoria (associate of science, general concentration)
Edelmira Ysasi of Fremont (occupational therapy assistant)

Owens Community College is a fully accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit