November 30, 2010

Owens Community College Foundation Appoints Board of Directors to Leadership Positions

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, OH – Owens Community College has named Thomas Pounds of Toledo, President and Publisher for the “Toledo Free Press”, to serve as the new Chairman for the Owens Foundation. Pounds replaces Arthur H. Smith of Maumee, retired Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary for Libbey Inc., who served as Foundation Chairman for the previous two years.

In addition, the College’s Foundation Board of Directors elected Daniel Kimmet of Toledo, retired Chief Operating Officer for Dillin Corp., as Vice Chairman; David Seeger of Maumee, President and Chief Executive Officer of Great Lakes Credit Union as Secretary; and James Geers of Findlay, retired Vice President of Global Human Resources at Cooper Tire & Rubber Company, as Treasurer. Each officer will serve a one-year term.

Seven Directors were re-elected to their positions during the annual meeting and will serve three-year terms. Re-elected Directors include James Baehren of Sylvania, Senior Vice President-Strategic Planning and General Counsel for Owens Illinois; Timothy Coleman of Monclova, Senior Vice President – Market Executive, Private Client Group for PNC Bank; Daniel Kimmet; Alan Sattler of Rossford, President of Flower Hospital; Arthur Smith; Diana H. (Dee) Talmage of Toledo, retired Educator and Chair of the Owens Community College Board of Trustees; and John Zajac of Perrysburg, Senior Vice President and CFO of Signature Bank.

“The Owens Community College Foundation has assembled a talented and dedicated group of community leaders who understand the importance of a quality college education and value the many benefits of lifelong learning,” said Ann Savage, Owens Executive Director of College Development and Foundation President. “Through their professional and life experiences, each officer brings a wealth of knowledge to their position and each will play a significant role in assisting the Foundation in our efforts to enhance programs and services for current and future students.”

The Owens Foundation was incorporated in April 2002 and has over $2.4 million in assets. The Foundation Board of Directors currently is comprised of 29 community leaders from Lucas, Wood and Hancock counties. The mission of the Owens Foundation and its Board of Directors is developing and providing resources to advance the College’s overall mission of serving students and the surrounding communities. The Foundation is also dedicated to removing barriers to education by providing student scholarships and supporting growth and innovation at Owens.

Owens Community College is a fully accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit