November 24, 2009

Owens Community College Foundation Appoints Board of Directors to Leadership Positions

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, OH – The Owens Community College Foundation Board of Directors has elected Arthur H. Smith of Maumee, retired Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary for Libbey Inc., to serve as the Chairman for the Owens Foundation for a second one-year term.

In addition, the Board of Directors re-elected Thomas Pounds of Toledo, President and Publisher for the “Toledo Free Press”, as Vice Chairman, and Diana H. (Dee) Talmage of Toledo, retired Educator, as Secretary, to leadership positions for one-year terms. Daniel Kimmet of Toledo, retired Chief Operating Officer for Dillin Corp., was re-elected to serve a third year as the Foundation’s Treasurer.

Four Directors were re-elected to their positions during the annual meeting and will serve three-year terms. Re-elected Directors include Charles Bills of Findlay, President/CEO of Ohio Logistics & Affiliates; James Carter of Grand Rapids, Wood County Commissioner; James Geers of Findlay, retired Vice President of Global Human Resources for Cooper Tire & Rubber Company; and Rasesh Shah of Holland, President, Rail Group, The Andersons Inc. Also elected for a three-year term was David Whikehart of Findlay, Director of Climate Change and Carbon Management for Marathon Petroleum Company.

In addition, during their Nov. 11, 2009 board meeting, the Board of Directors elected Jeannie Hylant of Toledo to a three-year term. Hylant is Executive Vice President of Hylant Group.

“The Owens Community College Foundation has assembled an outstanding group of leaders who value the importance of a quality college education and the many benefits of lifelong learning,” said Ann Savage, Owens Executive Director of Fund Development and Foundation President. “Each officer brings a wealth of experience, knowledge and dedication to their position and will play a significant role in the Foundation enhancing programs and services for current and future students.”

The Owens Foundation was incorporated in April 2002 and has over $1.9 million in assets. The Foundation Board of Directors currently is comprised of 25 community leaders from Lucas, Wood and Hancock counties. The mission of the Foundation and its Board of Directors is developing and providing resources to advance the College’s overall mission of serving students and the surrounding communities. The Foundation is also dedicated to removing barriers to education by providing student scholarships and supporting growth and innovation at Owens.

One of the fastest-growing higher educational institutions in Ohio, Owens Community College is a fully accredited two-year, state-assisted institution of higher education that has served Northwest Ohio since 1965. With a commitment to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability, the College serves the diverse academic needs of credit and non-credit students on the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses. Owens offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit