December 23, 2008

Owens Community College Honors Fall Athletic Programs

Brittney Bradner

Brittney Bradner

PERRYSBURG TOWNSHIP, OH – Owens Community College recently honored its fall athletic programs for displaying outstanding excellence during intercollegiate competition. Express student-athletes participating in women’s volleyball and men’s soccer were recognized for their athletic achievements, highlighted by Brittney Bradner of Toledo (journalism major) being named NJCAA Division II Honorable Mention All-American in women’s volleyball.

This marks 12 out of 13 years that at least one Owens volleyball player has received All-American honors. Bradner’s other honors included Ohio Community College Athletic Conference (OCCAC) Player of the Year and several NJCAA All-Region XII awards.

Bradner, a sophomore middle blocker from Cardinal Stritch High School, led the team with 179 blocks and recorded 357 kills.

The Express women’s volleyball program ended their 2008 season with a 39-15 overall record. The program captured its ninth consecutive OCCAC championship, finishing with an overall 10-0 conference record. Owens has now won 10 out of the last 11 conference titles. Led by Head Coach Sonny Lewis, the team’s season concluded with a loss to Columbus State Community College in the finals of the NJCAA Region XII Championships.

The men’s soccer program, led by Head Coach Art Johnson, recently completed its eleventh season as an Owens athletic program. The Express finished with a 10-8-2 overall record. Johnson’s team finished in third place in the final OCCAC (2-3-1 record) standings.

Women’s Volleyball Awards:

Offensive Most Valuable Player – Brittney Bradner
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Corine Williams of Toledo (Bowsher H.S.)
Most Improved Player – Katie Mullis of Clinton, Mich. (Lenawee Christian H.S.)
Coaches Award – Kathy Sabbagh of Fostoria (Fostoria H.S.)
OCCAC Player of the Year – Brittney Bradner
OCCAC Coach of the Year – Sonny Lewis
OCCAC All-Conference First Team – Brittney Bradner, Katie Mullis, Amanda Mick of Defiance (Defiance H.S.) and Chelsea Stover of Wyandotte, Mich. (Roosevelt H.S.)
OCCAC All-Conference Honorable Mention – Chazara Small of Monroe, Mich. (Monroe H.S.)
NJCAA All-Region XII Team – Brittney Bradner and Katie Mullis
NJCAA All-Region XII Tournament Team – Brittney Bradner and Ja’Lisa Graham of Mansfield (Mansfield Senior H.S.)
NJCAA All-American Division II Honorable Mention – Brittney Bradner

Owens Express volleyball team members also included Kristen Gyori of Oregon (Clay H.S.), Karie Marroquin of Fremont (Fremont Ross H.S.), Mallory Imbery of Curtice (Genoa H.S.), Amanda Drew of Maumee (Springfield H.S.), Brooke Hearn of Luna Pier, Mich. (Mason H.S.) and Brooke Thomas of Findlay (Findlay H.S.).

Men’s Soccer Awards:

Most Valuable Player – Evan ChatÈ of Pauillac, France (LycÈe Odilon Redon H.S.)
Offensive MVP – Henry Quoikapor of Vineland, N.J. (Vineland H.S. South)
Defensive MVP – Lorenzo Carrion-Bistolfi of Medell”n, Colombia (Centro Educacional Conquistadores)
Most Improved Player – Alex Moore of Bowling Green (Bowling Green H.S.)
Coaches Award – Jonathon Kijowski of Norwalk (Norwalk H.S.)
OCCAC Offensive Player of the Year – Evan ChatÈ
OCCAC All-Conference First Team – Evan ChatÈ and Lorenzo Carrion-Bistolfi
OCCAC All-Conference Second Team – Henry Quoikapor and Jonathon Kijowski
NJCAA All-Region XII First Team – Evan ChatÈ
NJCAA All-Region XII Second Team – Lorenzo Bistolfi

Members of the Owens Express men’s soccer team also included Brock Kennedy of Davisburg, Mich. (Holly H.S.), Lewis Kwai of Bamenda, Cameroon (GBHS Bamenda), Erik Bauerle of Waterville (Anthony Wayne H.S.), Jason Zeides of Perrysburg (Perrysburg H.S.), Jon Moore of Toledo (Toledo Christian Schools), Abel Johnson of Golden Valley, Minn. (Buduburam Community Senior School), Jahvan Russell of Montego Bay, Jamaica (Cornwall College), Lawrence Vincent of Bensalem, Pa. (Conwell-Egan Catholic H.S.), Julio Ortega Vasquez of Bogot·, Colombia (Colegio Parroquial de los Santos Apostoles), Brandon Duval of Milan, Mich. (Milan H.S.), Ed Brito of Napoleon (Napoleon H.S.), Jordan Schotter of Toledo (St. John’s Jesuit H.S.), Jay Sesock of Davisburg, Mich. (Holly H.S.), Dan Doe of Bristol, Pa. (Harry S. Truman H.S.) and Yousef Aliakbar of Perrysburg (Maumee Valley Country Day School).

Owens Community College is one of the fastest-growing higher educational institutions in Ohio. On the Toledo-area and Findlay-area campuses, Owens serves more than 45,000 credit and non-credit students. Owens is committed to providing small classes, personal attention and unmatched affordability. Owens Community College offers associate degrees that transfer to baccalaureate degrees in the Arts and Sciences and over 130 technical program areas in Agriculture, Business, Health Sciences, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Skilled Trades, and Engineering and Transportation Technologies. Owens students also can earn the first two years of a bachelor’s degree with a smooth transfer to any area four-year college or university. For more information, visit