Owens FAQ
Search:     Advanced search

How do I enable/disable Clutter in Outlook?

Article ID: 916
Last updated: 08 Nov, 2017
Revision: 5
Views: 2434

What is the purpose of the Clutter feature?

  • Clutter is a feature in Office 365 designed to help you focus on the most important messages by moving lower priority messages from your Inbox folder to the folder named 'Clutter'. 
  • Clutter learns from your actions to determine the messages you are likely to ignore. As less important messages arrive (messages that consistently do not get read/opened), they are automatically moved to the Clutter folder.  Any messages which you have specified a mail filter for will still be controlled by the filter and will not be affected by the Clutter feature.
  • The Clutter feature is trained by moving messages which should be filed as Clutter to the Clutter folder. Any messages which should not be automatically filtered to this folder should be moved back into the Inbox.

If you're currently in the Outlook 2016 desktop client:

1. In Outlook 2016, right-click the Clutter folder and the select Manage Clutter.

2. Sign in to Outlook on the web (OWA) using your work or school account.

It will take you directly to the Clutter options page.

3. Unselect Separate items identified as clutter > Save Save.

Or, if your page looks like the one below, select Don't separate items identified as Clutter > Save

  1. Clutter options

The Clutter folder remains in Outlook even after you turn off the feature.

If you're not currently in Outlook 2016:

  1. Sign into Outlook on the web (OWA) using your work or school account.
  2. At the top of the page, select the App launcher App launcher button> Mail.

Choose the app launcher and then choose Mail.

  1. At the top of the page, select Settings Settings: update your profile, install software and connect it to the cloud, and under Your app settings, select Mail.
  2. Under Automatic processing, select Clutter.

A screenshot of the cursor hovring over Clutter in the Settings menu.

  1. Unselect Separate items identified as clutter > Save Save.

To turn off clutter, clear the selections on this page and then choose Save.

Or, if your page looks like the one below, select Don't separate items identified as Clutter > Save Save.

Clutter options

The Clutter folder remains in Outlook even after you turn off the feature.


Resources for additional information:

This article was:  
Prev   Next
How to export your contacts from Outlook to Yahoo email     Email Security